The Happiest Ads
The Happiest Ads
The Happiest Ads

All Star Line-Up For Stand Up To Cancer Telecasting Commercial Free September 7

by Ellis Nassour on September 5, 2012

No Gravatar

The stars are standing up to fight cancer. For Friday’s commercial free telecast of the fundraiser Stand Up to Cancer on ABC, CBS, Fox, and NBC in prime time [8 P.M. Eastern], joining co-founder Katie Couric  and co-host Gwyneth Paltrow will be a Who’s Who celebrity roster that includes Simon Baker, Halle Berry, Jessica Biel, Coldplay, Dana Delany, Matt Damon, Rocco DiSpirito, Michael Douglas, Chelsea Handler, Tom Hanks, Marg Helgenberger, Felicity Huffman, Samuel L. Jackson, and Alicia Keys.

Joining them will be Tim McGraw, Jeremy Renner, Julia Roberts, Seth Rogen, Ray Romano, Emma Stone, Taylor Swift, Maura Tierney, Justin Timberlake, Sofia Vergara, and Olympic Gold Medalists Gabrielle Douglas and Missy Franklin.

These stars and many other personalities will join Couric and co-producer Paltrow  in performance or relating inspiring patient stories. “Donations from the telecast,” says Couric, “will fund groundbreaking translational life-saving research that delivers new therapies to cancer patients more quickly.”  There’ll be celebrity phone/multi-media banks allowing viewers to interact with participating talent and make donations, “of which,” explains Couric, “100% will go directly to cancer research.”

Viewers will also be able to donate via text-to-give and ABC, CBS, FOX and NBC are donating the hour of simultaneous commercial-free primetime. The program will broadcast live from Los Angeles’ Shrine Auditorium. geles. In addition, HBO, HBO Latino, ION, Lifetime, Logo, MLB, SHOWTIME, Smithsonian Channel, STARZ, STYLE, TBS, and VH1 will carry Stand Up To Cancer, a program of the Entertainment Industry Foundation, which is nationally-recognized 501(c)3 charitable organization.

The first two SU2C telecasts took place in September , 2008. To date, more than $180-million has been pledged for SU2C research. Since then, grants have been awarded to researchers and scientists who are undertaking high-risk, potentially high-reward projects. In all, 85 institutions are involved.

Print Friendly

Related Posts:

  • No Related Posts

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: